Keep your friends close and your God closer

You’ve heard the old expression, “Keep your friends close and your enemies closer.” However, I don’t agree with this wisdom of the world. I think it should be this way, “Keep your friends close and your God closer.” The bible say “Draw near to God and He will draw near to you…” (James 4:8) He did not say “draw near/close to your enemy,” instead He said, “…love your enemies, bless those who curse you, do good to those who hate you, and pray for those who spitefully use you and persecute you,” (Matthew 5:44)

Why would you keep your enemies close so they can cause more destruction in your life. When you have someone who is always negative and always around negative people then you are only going to get negativity from their lives and it will fill your life too. Some of us know who are enemies are and some of us have no clue. Most of the time they are enemies pretending to be our friend. The bible say “A friend loves at all times..” (Proverbs 17:17) I think the hardest thing for us Christians especially new believers is letting go of friends we know aren’t right for us.

So ask yourself these questions: Do my friends build my relationship with Christ or do they hinder my relationship with Him? Who are you listening to, them more than God? If your friends are continually critical, always gossiping about others and tearing down people with their comments, saying and doing things that are not right in the sight of the Lord? Then it is time to change your friends. Once you have answers these questions, decide whether you need to build your friendships more on God or find new friends. “A man who has friends must himself be friendly, But there is a friend who sticks closer than a brother.” (Proverbs 18:24)

About Angelsteffy

Welcome All! Thanks for stopping by, Hope you enjoy yourselves as you enter my world and get to known me. Don't forget to leave a kind comment, and let me know what you think. Don't be afraid to share your thoughts. Thanks! Well what can I say about me. I am from Haitian descent, born and raise in Nassau, Bahamas. I am a computer repair technician working as a secretary in Fort Lauderdale, Florida. I am married and so in love with my huband. I am a Christian, I love the Lord, I love to smile, I love working with computers, writing poetry, going to the movies, listen to music. I enjoy cooking, and working with kids, I teach sunday school at my church. All in all I'm just a loving person. Hope you enjoy reading my thoughts and feelings. Peace & God Bless!
This entry was posted in Christianity, Love & Relationships and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Keep your friends close and your God closer

  1. henry says:

    Goog word of wisdom

Leave a Reply

