The Devil’s Workshop – Idle hands and mind.

Idle hands are the devil’s workshop. Idle mind are the devil’s playground. Idle hands are the devil’s tools. Idle brains are the devil’s workhouses. If the Devil finds a Man/Woman idle, he’ll set him at work. The devil finds work (or mischief) for idle hands and/mind to do.

There are many variations, but they all follow the same theme: A person who doesn’t have something particular to occupy himself with, doing something, will be tempted to occupy himself with sin. The phrasing is not found in the Bible, but like many “chimney corner scriptures” it has its roots in a scriptural idea.

Idleness means you have no particular goal in mind and thus you can be easily distracted. Like King David being tempted with lust for Bathsheba and committing adultery with her because he wasn’t doing what he should have been doing. He stayed home instead of going to battle with the rest of the army. (II Samuel 11:1-4)

In the New Testament of the Bible, warning is given about supporting young widows from the church’s funds because it leaves the woman with little to do. “And besides they learn to be idle, wandering about from house to house, and not only idle but also gossips and busybodies, saying things which they ought not. Therefore I desire that the younger widows marry, bear children, manage the house, give no opportunity to the adversary to speak reproachfully. For some have already turned aside after Satan.” (I Timothy 5:13-15)

For this same cause, all Christians are commanded to work or keep busy. “For even when we were with you, we commanded you this: If anyone will not work, neither shall he eat. For we hear that there are some who walk among you in a disorderly manner, not working at all, but are busybodies. Now those who are such we command and exhort through our Lord Jesus Christ that they work in quietness and eat their own bread” (II Thessalonians 3:10-12).

Don’t allow the Devil to use you to do his dirty works. Keep busy… work… find something to do, learn to play a instrument, clean, cook, write, sing, play a game, read a book, better yet read THE BOOK the Bible. Just keep busy and work. Facebook, Tweeter and all the other social website don’t count in keeping you busy…lol… because satan can and is using them to make us sin by making us busybodies and gossipers. (busybodies – person who pries into or meddles in the affairs of others.)

About Angelsteffy

Welcome All! Thanks for stopping by, Hope you enjoy yourselves as you enter my world and get to known me. Don't forget to leave a kind comment, and let me know what you think. Don't be afraid to share your thoughts. Thanks! Well what can I say about me. I am from Haitian descent, born and raise in Nassau, Bahamas. I am a computer repair technician working as a secretary in Fort Lauderdale, Florida. I am married and so in love with my huband. I am a Christian, I love the Lord, I love to smile, I love working with computers, writing poetry, going to the movies, listen to music. I enjoy cooking, and working with kids, I teach sunday school at my church. All in all I'm just a loving person. Hope you enjoy reading my thoughts and feelings. Peace & God Bless!
This entry was posted in Christianity and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Devil’s Workshop – Idle hands and mind.

  1. www says:

    Your style is so unique compared to other people I’ve read stuff from.

    Thank you for posting when you have the opportunity, Guess I’ll just bookmark this web site.

Leave a Reply

